There are between 14 and 16 distinct Aboriginal languages in the Goldfields region of Western Australia. The work on recording, linguistically analysing and preserving these languages in dictionaries and grammar documents is still in the wary stages. Once the work on each language has been undertaken, we will be able to say for sure how many languages there are or which languages are dialects of each other.

GALC has released a paper Languages and Dialects of the Goldfields Region’, January 2018, by linguist Sue Hanson about the names of the languages of the region.

NOTE ON MAP: The location of language names are approximate and may not be located on traditional land. The names and locations are for illustration purposes only

Since 2011, linguistic work has been undertaken on: (click on the language name to go to the language info page) Tjupan – AIATSIS code A31 (of Western Desert language A80)

follow Kaalamaya -AIATSIS code A4 (Kaalamaya language of the Gubrun people)

source site Ngadju – AIATSIS code A3 (Ngatjumaya/Ngadjumaya) Ngalia – AIATSIS code C2 (of Western Desert language A80)

can u buy azithromycin online Cundeelee Wangka – no code, speakers describe as a southern Pitjantjantjarra

ciprofloxacin 500mg price USA Kuwarra – AIATSIS code A16 (of Western Desert language A80)

Then in 2016, with an increase in funds from the Commonwealth Government, linguistic work began on the languages:

buy ciprofloxacin NZ online Maduwongga AIATSIS code A86 Manyjilyjar – A32 AIATSIS reference name Nakako Wangkatja – AIATSIS code A12 and A103, possibly is also Pindiini AIATSIS code A102 or dialects of

price of amoxil Australia Mirning – AIATSIS code A9 Marlpa – no AIATSIS code, appears to be a dialect or variant of Ngaju

Several languages cross state borders. The languages that have been well documented in NT and SA and which are also found in the Goldfields WA are:

price of ampicillin NZ Ngaanyatjarra – AIATSIS code A38 Nyanatjarra – a dialect of Ngaanyatjarra

go site Ngaatjatjara – AIATSIS code A43, a dialect of Ngaanyatjarra

see Pitjantjantjarra – A80 AIATSIS code C6

Yankunytjatjara– AIATSIS code C4 A80


Other language names that have arisen and need investigation with Goldfields speakers are:

  1. Natingero
  2. Nugara
  3. Watjanmay
  4. Tjapanmay
  5. Gula
  6. Djalgandi
  7. Mudalga
  8. Marawa
  9. Tjeraridjal
  10. Murunitja
  11. Marawa
  12. Kalaako, Kaalako
  13. Nganta
  14. Pindiini
  15. Mudalga
  16. Mankulatjarra
  17. Tjalkatjarra